Old Donna’s Page content

Today I am adding some new content to Donna’s Page, but since it’s a page and not a post, the old content will go away when I put in the new.  So, for posterity or whatever, I’m putting the old content here as a post, and you can click on Donna’s Page for the new content, which, what can I say?, is also about books.

Old Entry

We are a reading family! As I go through the house picking things up, restoring order, I am often struck by the sheer number of books we have – and they’re everywhere! I thought I’d take a minute and tell you about some of my favorite books, or even about some I’m reading and finding to be really good. Over the course of time, I would like to also include ones the kids and Mark love, but I see that this has gotten to be rather long, and I wasn’t even trying!

I don’t quite know how to categorize them, especially since so many in the kid’s category are ones I like so much! I’ll just list the title, the author, and a little bit about the book.

The following are books we read aloud to the kids as part of their curriculum in different years of school. The whole family enjoyed the stories, even when we were reading one again:

Johnny Tremain – Esther Forbes

If you haven’t read this one in a while, or if you’d like a great story about the American Revolution, this is a good one. We love how Johnny grows in character, we love Rab’s manner, and I think I cry every time I read the ending.

Understood Betsy – Dorothy Canfield Fisher

Don’t be put off by the fact that it’s about a girl. We very much enjoy the way the author talks to the reader, and how Betsy comes to see life very differently through the kind touch of some ordinary people.

Carry On, Mr. Bowditch – Jean Lee Latham

This is full of sailing terminology, but it is a fun story based on the life of a real person. Mary and I thoroughly enjoyed this family favorite again.

Eagle of the Ninth – Rosemary Sutcliff

Aside from being a gripping story, this book gives a wonderful look at Roman life and England in ancient times.

Beauty – Robin McKinley

This is a re-telling of the story of “Beauty and the Beast”, written a decade before Disney released it’s version of the same story. It is clear where Disney got its version of the story, except this leaves out the Frenchness, the silliness, and has a great deal of smart fun instead. We loved the way Beauty got her name.

Donna’s Bedside/Devotional reading

War of Words – Paul David Tripp

Actually this isn’t good bedtime reading because it will keep you awake thinking for quite some time. I think this book gives a wonderfully biblical look at the problems we all face in communicating, and gives solid, practical responses to those problems. I think this is something every couple should read, whether or not they’ve got issues in their communication. I loved the stories Paul used from his own life – no highly theoretical talk here!

I Kissed Dating Goodbye – Josh Harris

As we talk with the kids about the myriad things that come up in their lives as they growing, I found Josh’s straightforward explanation of why he re-examined dating profoundly helpful. I really liked the way he challenged his readers to consider their motives in relationships.

Boy Meets Girl – Josh Harris

It’s hard to read the one without reading the other. Josh not only gives a convincing case for not doing the typical dating thing (first book), he gives a sound alternative for developing healthy pre-marital relationships, again, carefully examining motives.

Not Even a Hint – Josh Harris

I read this book first of the three, and it’s pretty intense. I want to be able to talk effectively with my kids about purity, of heart, mind, and body. I’m a black and white person, and I thoroughly appreciated Josh’s no-nonsense discussion of lust and how we each need to address it. Definitely read it yourself before handing it to your teen so you can know exactly how specific the book is as it addresses the various aspects of purity and lust.

For Women Only – Shaunti Feldhahn

Definitely a light bulb-on kind of book for me (perhaps that tells you a lot about me!). I highly recommend reading this book because it gives such a clear description of things I had not understood about they way men think. The reason I emphasize the word ‘description’ is that the book is not intending to be an answer to the things it describes (it is descriptive but not proscriptive). I am now going through mine and looking for how I would apply the Bible in responding to the various things Feldhahn brings up.

This entry was posted in Words & Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

